Canning my version of Ranch Style beans

My family just loves these beans! If you’re a canning fan like me,,, you will love this awesome way to cook these dry beans in a pressure cooker.

I know some may be terrified of the idea of using a pressure cooker. I was horrified!! I heard so much scary stories like ,,, “My Gran used one white cooking dinner,,, and next thing you know there was a hole in the ceiling!”  Oh gosh I thought,, This is a new house.. I don’t want to hurt it?!! haha

           My father bought my Mum a Pressure cooker for her birthday 16 years ago. We didn’t even open the box till last year. She shared my fear of Pressure canning. haha

    Soooooo,,, we saw this recipe and said well better late then never. Very easy. I included pictures to show the process and how fast and easy it can be.

  list of things you will need.  Pressure cooker of course,, Make sure you read full instructions on venting times for your model,,, usually 10 min.  sterilized pint jars, hot boiling water in separate pan, ladle, bubble remover, lids and rings for your pint jar.  Tomato sauce, dried onion, chili, salt, cumin, black pepper, garlic powder, small red beans.

 Ok lets start at the beginning. Line up your jars in a row. Put in order in the jar. (at this time put your lids in another pan and water heat up to activate the glue)

2/3 c. red beans DRY!!! No soaking required

1/2 t. dried onion

1 t. chili powder

1/2 t. salt

1/2 t. cumin

1/4 t. black pepper

1/4 t. garlic powder                   here’s my lovely mother demonstrating the process

Image

after all the ingredients are in the jar. You need to ladle boiling water in the jar leaving an inch headspace.

          Here is me doing this step

Image

after all is filled. Add the lids and rings. Seal the babies up!!

Then lower them with a jar lifter in the pressure canner. Be careful of steam burns,,, hurts so much!!

Image

oh lord!!  Big belly shot! But Im working on that. lol

Its going to have to process on 10 lbs for 75 mins.

Image

 

After it completely cooled down where you can open your canner,,, you can pull out your hard work!!

Image

Now,,, I know your dying to try them as soon as they are cooked. You can,,, but they taste better after sitting and stewing in it own juices for several weeks!

           I hope this was a big help!

                     XOXO April

 

 

7 thoughts on “Canning my version of Ranch Style beans

  1. Hey! Where does one buy a pressure canner? My wife’s just getting into cooking beans from dry instead of buying canned and I have never seen one of those before! I’ll bet she would love it.

    • We got our canner at a feed store (county living lol)…. but its a Presto Canner… the largest one they have I believe. .. comes in many sizes. Its wonderful. I think you can order straight from the manufacturer. Walmart has pressure canners…. but I am very leary. If you have anymore questions do hesitate to ask!! 🙂

      • Thank you for taking the time to comment. I’m going to check out a kitchen-ware store before I head over to WalMart. I’m also going to look at Presto Canner to see if they ship to Canada.

        Enjoy your day!

Leave a comment